Home > Uncategorized > Writing whether you feel like it or not

Writing whether you feel like it or not

I’ve been thinking this week about all the things that stop me from getting on with the several writing projects I have on the go in the past couple of weeks.  Apart from the “real” reasons not to get down to it – compulsory school sports day attendance, doing some cleaning before the environmental health people are called in, filling in the monster that is the Scottish Book Trust’s Live Literature application form – there has not been anything else to stop me.

So why have I not been head down, working away frantically?  The true reason?  Because I haven’t felt like it.

Now, when Lari Don was trying to decide on an extra writing tip to pass on to a reader, I suggested “Write even when you don’t feel like it – that’s when you surprise yourself the most.”  A good tip.  I know it makes sense – so I tried it out myself.  And you know what?  When I sat down and started, I wrote a whole new first chapter to the book I’m currently editing.  I got so engrossed that I forgot the time and was late for my parent-helper stint at my local school.  I certainly surprised myself.

Today it’s raining and chilly.   I have a stack of books waiting to be read and a pile of laundry to deal with.  I don’t feel like writing.  I do feel like reading by the fire with a cup of tea.  I should deal with the laundry.  But I’m off to do some editing.  I wonder where it will take me…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

