Home > Uncategorized > Can you have a work Christmas lunch when you work at home?

Can you have a work Christmas lunch when you work at home?

Yes you can!  I’ve just been to lunch with a bunch of other writers.  It’s an annual event, a chance to swap war stories and successes and generally talk shop about all things writing-related – as well as any other topic which comes up in the lively conversation.

A writer’s life can be a bit lonely. I spend a lot of time alone, staring at a blank page or screen (or even better, a full page or screen of words that need licking into shape).  And I spend a lot of time in my head, with people who don’t exist outside my imagination.  So the chance to meet with fellow writers and chat about what we do, the challenges we face and triumphs we experience, together with a whole lot of non-writing stuff – because let’s face it, writers are people too – is very valuable.

I enjoyed my office Christmas lunch immensely – and not just the talk, but the food too. And I can tell you with great pride that I won the bet with Corinne V Davies and finished every last crust of that enormous pizza! (And still had room for pudding.)

  1. December 16, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    I think it’s important for people who work from home to have events like this. Sounds like you had fun!

    • December 17, 2014 at 12:08 am

      I so agree – and there is something very heartening about sharing stories with people who really understand what it is you do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

