Home > Uncategorized > A Change is as Good as a Rest

A Change is as Good as a Rest

This week I’ve been turning things upside down.  Instead of working with words at my desk and working with yarn in the sitting room, I swapped things around.  I spent several hours in an armchair working on my latest novel – 50,000 words so far and very baggy and saggy, thanks for asking – and then I spent an hour cutting shapes out of home-made woollen felt.  (It’s for a top secret project, so I can’t tell you any more about it just now.)

It felt a bit strange doing things the “wrong” way round, but I needed a clear, bright space to do the felt-cutting and my desk was perfect, so it worked well for that.  It worked well for the writing too.  The change of place seemed to give me a boost and I got far more done than I’d expected.  The only downside was that being much closer to the kettle while I was writing meant that I drank at least twice as much tea or coffee as usual.

So there you have it, stepping out of your normal routine can be beneficial to the writer – just watch out for caffeine overload!

DSC03347

Beware of caffeine overload!.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

